Transformations for String Quartet

By Barbara Harbach

I. Pastorale
II. Towards Liberty
III. Re-strain
IV. Commandment
V. For Life
VI. One Out of Many
VII. Profit
VIII. Return

This eight-movement work for string quartet was inspired by pioneer director Alice Guy Blache’s 1912 silent film Making an American Citizen. The moods range from nostalgia to agitation to resolution. This haunting score captures a vein of folk America and utilizes the distinctive voice of each instrument.