Sonata in F Major for the Piano or Harpsichord

By Veronica Cianchettini (Ed. Barbara Harbach)

Allegro moderato
Andante, Variations on Adeste Fidelis (O Come All Ye Faithful)

Catalogue Number: H1837
Andante, Variations on Adeste Fidelis (O Come All Ye Faithful) (Excerpt)
Contact to Buy

H1837 Score $15.95

Katerina Veronika Anna Dusikova (1769-1833) was born into the famous Dussek family from Bohemia. She was the daughter of the organist and composer Jan Dussek with whom she studied the piano. At the invitation of her brother Jan Ladislav Dussek (and sister-in-law to Sophia Corri Dussek), she went to London. She married Francisco Cianchettini, a music publisher, and had a successful career as a com- poser, pianist, harpist, and teacher. She also taught her own musical children Veronika Elizabeth and Pio. Pio became a professional pianist and composer. From 1807-1811 her husband held the English rights to her famous brother’s compositions.

Veronica Cianchettini composed solo piano sonatas, sets of variations, short pieces based on well- known melodies of the day, and two concertos.

Sonata in F Major with Variations on Adeste Fidelis, Op. 2, has two movements. The first movement, Allegro moderato, is a sonata-allegro form with tuneful melodies, interesting harmonies, touches of chromaticism, hand crossovers, Alberti-bass accompaniments, and sections with triplet figurations. Varied dynamic and articulation markings, the use of the full range of the keyboard with the optional choice of using the additional keys of the piano, as well as suggested cuts between sign markings that the performer may omit, contribute to make this an exciting late Classical/ early Romantic sonata.

The second movement Andante, is a set of variations in B-flat Major based on the popular Christmas carol, Adeste Fidelis (O Come All Ye Faithful). The movement contains five variations and a waltz in rondo form.


Historical Keyboard