Sonata for Violin and Piano

By Irene Britton Smith

I. Allegro Cantabile
II. Andante con sentimento
III. Vivace

Catalogue Number: H904
Contact to Buy

H904 Score and Parts $18.95

Irene Britton Smith’s Sonata for violin and piano continues the HMP series Music by African American Women, edited by Helen Walker-Hill and inaugurated in 1995 with Five Interludes for Piano by Rachel Eubanks.

The Sonata, in three movements, is conservative and neo-classical in style. Serenely flowing contrapuntal lyricism alternates with lively, mischievous playfulness. The work is technically moderately difficult and requires interpretive sensitivity.


Chamber Music