Six Sonatas for Piano or Harpsichord

By Jane Savage (Ed. Barbara Harbach)

Sonata I in G Major
Sonata II in F Major
Sonata III in G Major
Sonata IV in C Major
Sonata V in F Major
Sonata VI in B-flat Major

Catalogue Number: H1817
Contact to Buy

H1817 Score $18.95

These six sonatas by the English composer Jane Savage (fl. 1780-1790) are engaging galant works of rhythmic energy. They are characterized by beautiful arias filled with pathos; perky, folk-like melodies; variety of rhythms; and sixteenth-note accompaniment.

According to the dates of Jane Savage’s compositions, she flourished about 1780-1790. Very little is known about her, and she remains a mystery to scholars and performers. Evidenced by her keyboard music, she was a virtuosic keyboard player who wrote keyboard music that reflected her skills.

Jane Savage had a superb sense of what made appealing and popular galant style keyboard music at the close of the eighteenth century. She also had a complete grasp of harmonic and counterpoint practices of the time. The year 1783 occurs during the transition from the harpsichord to the pianoforte. Consequently, this music exhibits some harpsichord characteristics as well as those of the early piano.


Historical Keyboard