Six Sonatas for Harpsichord or Piano

By Anna Bon (Ed. Barbara Harbach)

Sonata I in G Minor
Sonata II in B-flat Major
Sonata III in F Major
Sonata IV in C Major
Sonata V in B Minor
Sonata in VI in C Major

Catalogue Number: H1816
Contact to Buy

H1816 Score $21.95

The short life of Anna Bon remains mysterious, but intriguing. Little is known about her early years. Since she referred to herself and listed herself in the dedications to her compositions as Anna Bon di Venezia, one might assume that she was born or lived a few of her early years in Venice. Apparently, her parents were successful: her mother as an opera singer and her father as a stage designer. Eventually, all three were hired at the court of Prince Nikolaus von Esterhazy. The last known historical date for Anna Bon is in 1767, when she was married to an Italian tenor. Six Sonatas for Harpsichord or Piano

Working at the court of Frederick the Great, Anna Bon (1739-?) wrote these six sonatas when she was a teenager. The sonatas reflect the transition from late Baroque to the early Classical style. The three-movement sonatas feature charming melodies, elegant ornamentation, and unexpected melodic twists. Of medium difficulty, these pieces are a wonderful addition to early Mozart and Haydn sonatas. Performers, teachers, students, and audiences will enjoy these additions to the repertoire.


Historical Keyboard