Sinfonietta for String Orchestra

By Barbara Harbach

I. Hommage
II. Jeu Jeu
III. Pastiche

Published: 2010
Catalogue Number: H951
I. Hommage from Sinfonietta for String Orchestra- Excerpt
III. Pastiche from Sinfonietta for String Orchestra- Excerpt
Contact to Buy

H951 Score $49.00
H951B Score and Parts $99.00

Sinfonietta for String Orchestra is a petite symphony in three movements.  The first movement, I. Hommage, is dedicated to all lost love and loved ones.  The form is a loose rondo in six sections (ABACBA).  The first section opens with a mournful descending line in the first violins. Beginning with imitation based on a two-measure motive, II. Jeu Jeu, plays with rests, slurs, and staccatos in a five-part form (ABACA). III. Pastiche is a combination of melodies, with the melodies playing happily together or juxtaposed together in a six-part form (ABACBC).


String Orchestra