Phantasy and Phugue for Solo Piano

By Barbara Harbach

Phantasy and Phugue

Catalogue Number: H608
Contact to Buy

Score $10.95

Phantasy and Phugue, written in the fall of 1994, consists of three sections (in a single movement) with contrasting atmospheres of foreboding and playfulness. The first section is dramatic in vol-ume and texture, utilizing the full range of the keyboard, with hand crossovers and clashes of triads a half-step apart. The second section is serene with its ostinatos, but it becomes more agitated as the melodic intervals in both hands increase. After a brief return of the opening material, the one-hundred-and-thirty measure fugue gallops and cavorts up and down the keyboard before ending with the opening gesture.


Contemporary Piano Solo