Overture to Astarto for Harpsichord or Piano

By Felice Giardini (Ed. Barbara Harbach)

I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Allegro

Catalogue Number: H1836
Contact to Buy

H1836 Score $14.95

Felice Giardini (1716-1796) was a well-known Italian virtuoso violinist, teacher, and composer. The Overture to Astarto contains three movements. The first movement, Allegro, in D Major has fanfares and tremolos. The diatonic melodies are triadic in outline with phrase repetition. The form is sonata form.

In G Major, the second movement, Andante, appears to be in binary form.

The last movement, Allegro, returns to D Major in a loose rondo form of ABAC” A”.

This Overture for the harpsichord or piano is ensured an interesting position in the realm of keyboard pieces written on operatic melodies. It is inventive, charming, and gives a glimpse of the musical keyboard style in the Classical period. Performers, teachers, and students will enjoy this addition to the repertoire.


Historical Keyboard