Mexican Composers for the Organ, Vol. 3

By Alfonso de Elías & Manuel de Elías (Ed. James Welch)

Alfonso de Elías • Sonata
Manuel de Elías • Canció de Cuna • Preludio Elegíaco

Catalogue Number: H331
Contact to Buy

H331 Score $21.95

This volume showcases a unique father and son combination of talents. Alfonso de Elías (1902-1984) was perhaps the last composer of the Mexican Romantic tradition. His Sonata and Interludio are examples of his characteristic chromaticism and rich harmonies. Manuel de Elías (b. 1939) is a member of the Mexican Academy of Arts. His Canción de Cuna is an evocative lullaby, while Preludio Elegíaco moves from introspection to a forceful climax before ending in repose.


Organ Solo