Historical Women Composers for the Piano Sonate, Op. 1 and Suite d’études (Six d’études)

By Marie Bigot (Ed. Calvert Johnson)

Sonate, opus 1
Allegro espressivo
Rondo: Allegro
Suite d' etudes
Etude in C Minor
Etude in A Minor
Etude in C Major
Etude in G Major
Etude in D Major
Etude in A Minor

Catalogue Number: H1803
Contact to Buy

1803 $22.95

Discover the music of the woman who taught Fanny and Felix Mendelssohn and Franz Schubert. Marie Kiéné Bigot de Morogues (1786-1820) was a leading performer of her day who championed the works of her friends Joseph Haydn and Ludwig van Beethoven.

The fifty-six page volume contains her four-movement Sonate and the Suite d’etudes. Bigot’s compositions show a sensitive, gifted composer writing in an early Romantic style while maintaining Classic conventions of form. American Music Teacher says, “Commendations to Harbach Music for beginning this series on French women composers.” Piano and Keyboard maintains that these sonatas “have both poetry and brilliance and are well suited to smaller hands.”


Historical Keyboard