Four Rhapsodies for Solo Piano

By Lettie Beckon Alston

Rhapsody No. 1 (Etude)
Rhapsody No. 2 (Nocturne)
Rhapsody No. 3 (Dream Waltz)
Rhapsody No. 4 (Toccata)

Catalogue Number: H6503
Contact to Buy

H6503 Score $14.95

Lettie Beckon Alston is Associate Professor of Music at Oakland University. Born in Detroit, Michigan on April 13, 1953, she now resides in Lathrup Village, Michigan. She received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Music Composition from Wayne State University. She was the first African American composer to obtain a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Michigan, where she studied with Leslie Bassett, William Bolcom, Eugene Kurtz, and George Wilson.


African American Women Composers