Emanations of the Sacred Harp for Cello and Piano

By Barbara Harbach

I. Morning Fantasy
II. Reeling Chester

Published: 2004
Catalogue Number: H921
Contact to Buy

H921 Score and parts $14.95

Emanations of the Sacred Harp is a two-movement work for cello and piano. The first movement, Morning Fantasy, is an eloquent fantasy beginning and ending with a quasi-improvisatory setting for the central hymn tune “The Morning Trumpet.”

The second movement, Reeling Chester, begins with an introductory fragment and then a complete statement of “Chester” in the tuba clothed in a polyphonic texture in the piano and evoking the energy and drive of the early New England style. The counterpoint then becomes the subject of a fugue that weaves “Chester” into  its fabric along   with   another fugue, reels, and more hymns. It is based on five hymn tunes primarily from the First New England School of Composers of the Revolutionary and Federalist Periods. The   hymns   are How   Firm   a   Foundation, The   Morning   Trumpet, Jordan, Morning Hymn and most prominently, William Billings’ Chester.


Chamber Music